18 Elementary (K-6th) Tutors Found Near Detroit, MI



Photo: Danielle M.

Danielle M.

Elementary (K-6th) Tutor

Dearborn, MI 48124

Will travel 20 miles

$65 per hour.

0.0 0 ratings

View Danielle M.

Academic and test prep tutor

I have a B.S. in Elementary Education from the University of Michigan. I am certified to teach in the states of MI and AZ. I have taught all subjects in grades 2, 4, and 6. I was a reading specialist for my elementary school grades K - 6. I'm familiar with Common Core Standards and grade-level expectations for grades K-6. I've provided differentiated instruction to small groups and 1-1 in all my 7 years of teaching. I am a self-proclaimed "book nerd" who's enthusiasm for reading and learning began when I was a student in school. This passion for life-long learning led me to complete a B. S. i [more]


Photo: Lydia O.

Lydia O.

Elementary (K-6th) Tutor

Taylor, MI 48180

Will travel 20 miles

$45 per hour.

4.99 77 ratings

View Lydia O.

Elementary/Middle school Education Tutor with certification

I have my Michigan certification in Elementary Education K-5 and 6-8 self-contained English. I am an elementary education teacher. I've taught 1st and 2nd grade for 6 years. I have my Michigan certification in Elementary Education K-5 and 6-8 self contained English. I have had experience doing ACT prep during the summer at a Detroit area school a few years ago. I have done programming with schools and Americorp. I am certified in English and specialize with struggling readers and writers. I also excel in teaching children fundamental math skills and leadership skills. I adjust... [more]


Photo: Vera W.

Vera W.

Elementary (K-6th) Tutor

Oak Park, MI 48237

Will travel 10 miles

$40 per hour.

4.45 56 ratings

View Vera W.

Math and Test Prep Specialist

I have been involved in the lives of elementary school kids since I was 11, when I started being a mother's helper. When I was 13, I started baby-sitting, and in high school, I started tutoring children of all ages. I feel that I connect with them fairly easily. I make learning fun, and help the students become less afraid of some of their school subjects which might scare them. One family I have been working with has three kids, all of whom I have known since they were born. The oldest is now in high school, while the youngest is still in elementary school. I have been tutoring them since the [more]


Photo: Hajar L.

Hajar L.

Elementary (K-6th) Tutor

Detroit, MI 48226

Will travel 40 miles

$20 per hour.

4.97 40 ratings

View Hajar L.

Language Arts/English Tutor

It is my passion to tutor early childhood students in any subject area, but my specialty is language arts, social studies, art, and science. I attended Georgia State University for my Secondary English Education degree (BA) and my Master of Arts in Teaching degree (MAT). When I completed my MAT degree, I taught at a private school and I taught three early childhood areas (reading, language arts, and social studies) to third-grade students. When I was not teaching during the day, sometimes I volunteered at nonprofit organizations in order to help at-risk students with their homework. On the wee [more]


Photo: Dr. Sheila W.

Dr. Sheila W.

Elementary (K-6th) Tutor

Southfield, MI 48033

Will travel 20 miles

$60 per hour.

0.0 0 ratings

View Dr. Sheila W.

Building confidence...is where we begin!

I have taught for the last two years in a K-8 setting. My classroom instructional approach resulted in academic engagement and student achievement. This resulted in 115% met projected growth in the Spring of 2018. I am a Science, Technology, Engineering & Math educator. Dear Student/Parent... You're ready for a tutor but how do you pick the right one? You may want to ask these questions. Can this tutor explain well? Can I ask questions without feeling embarrassed? Is this person reliable? I am happy to answer "yes" to all three of these questions. I'm a retired podiatrist who has fou [more]


Photo: Tina S.

Tina S.

Elementary (K-6th) Tutor

Ferndale, MI 48220

Will travel 10 miles

$45 per hour.

0.0 0 ratings

View Tina S.

Reading and Foundational Skills Tutor

I am qualified to teach k-8 self contained classrooms. I hold a current teaching certificate. I have 17+ years' teaching experience. Hi! I have been in education for over 17 years. I graduated from EMU with a major in Language Arts. I have attended Wayne State's Reading Specialist Program. Previously experience includes kindergarten, first, second and fourth grade. I have also worked as an intervention coach and currently work as an instructional coach. As an instructional coach, I help teachers refine their teaching strategies and help them develop new ones to meet the needs of all th [more]


Photo: DeLon W.

DeLon W.

Elementary (K-6th) Tutor

Southfield, MI 48076

Will travel 20 miles

$45 per hour.

0.0 0 ratings

View DeLon W.

DeLon: K-5 subjects; any grade level

I will be receiving certification in all subjects K-5 within the next month. I have experience teaching interactive lessons in math, science, language arts, and social studies to a whole-group and within small groups. My tutoring methods include meeting students where they are, creating an instructional plan, and having the student reflect on his/her progress after each session. ELA and math lessons will include a guided practice, an independent practice, and assessments to monitor the student's progress. [more]


Photo: Kenneth P.

Kenneth P.

Elementary (K-6th) Tutor

Detroit, MI 48238

Will travel 20 miles

$30 per hour.

0.0 0 ratings

View Kenneth P.

Effective Elementary Tutor Specializing in Reading and Test Prep

I have a master's degree in education from the University of Phoenix. I also have 20 years teaching experience as a paraprofessional, substitute teacher and a classroom teacher. I became a certified teacher with the state of Michigan 6 years ago. I am a certified elementary teacher with 20 years of teaching experience. I have taught first, second and fifth grade. I have also worked as a resource teacher for several years. I have grown in the field of education throughout the years and I am still working on being a better teacher. I am currently taking professional development classes. I [more]


Photo: Helen P.

Helen P.

Elementary (K-6th) Tutor

Madison Heights, MI 48071

Will travel 15 miles

$45 per hour.

0.0 0 ratings

View Helen P.

English, Writing and Grammar Tutor Madison Heights, MI

I have an educational background in library science and have been working (as a volunteer) in a K-5 library for two years. My volunteer work, in addition to "typical" library work, has included a lot of interaction with the children, which I have come to genuinely enjoy. I assist the media specialist with activities such as read-alouds, computer skills, and general help with whatever assignments classroom teachers have given students to work on during library time. In addition, I am a freelance writer/artist with a strong background in English. [more]


Photo: Jackie H.

Jackie H.

Elementary (K-6th) Tutor

Dearborn, MI 48128

Will travel 5 miles

$60 per hour.

0.0 0 ratings

View Jackie H.

Elementary Reading, Writing and Math

I have a bachelor's degree in elementary education and a master's degree in Early Childhood Education. I also have 35 years of teaching experience as an elementary teacher. I am retired teacher with over 30 years of experience in early elementary classrooms. I love working with young children as they develop skills in reading, writing and math. I teach using hands-on learning experiences and a variety of strategies to reach all learners. I strive to build a child's self esteem so that they see themselves as capable and develop an "I can" attitude. I was Teacher of the Year in my building i [more]