Teresa E.


Teresa E.

Tutor

Pflugerville, TX 78660

Will travel 20 miles

$35 per hour.

5.0 15 ratings

Effective Spanish, Elementary Math and Reading tutor

I am a passionate tutor and believe everyone has the power to learn, given the chance and proper tools to learn. I currently have my bachelor of Arts in Organizational Management with a Minor in Education from Ashford University, Clinton, IA. I Have been tutoring High School Spanish I & II and home schooling all summer long and during the school year. I am fluent in my native language, read, write, and speak it. I do teach on a volunteer basis at the elementary level for the 5 block cours... [more]


Biology


Vocabulary


Reading

I have previous home schooling experience with young kids up to 5th grade, including Reading.


Spanish

I have tutored for social settings while in the military and for wedding parties in English/Spanish simultaneously and one on one tutoring.


Spelling


Elementary Math

I worked with my niece on all her math tutoring from 3rd to 6th grade. I'm a gentle and fun tutor which makes it better for retaining the information without losing the students attention.


Elementary (K-6th)

I have 10 years' experience tutoring general education but my strength is Spanish, reading and some special education. I have the ability to work with students elementary to adult who have a wide range of skills and on many subjects. I am a strong tutor with high expectations for students. Finding that one thing that excites them and using it in the lesson helps students focus and understand the information. I currently have my Bachelor of Arts in Organizational Management with a Minor in Education from Ashford University.


Phonics

Phonics is as essential as word meaning. Phonics is a great way to learn adding music to the lesson. Learning the sound of words is a major factor in learning to write as well. The more confident the student feels in the pronunciation the more the student can write and create better communication. It starts at the lower level but can be also used for other language acquisition. I use phonics when teaching Spanish and it can be reversed and used for English or any language as well.


ESL/ESOL

I've been working with translation and proofreading services for five years, and during this time I've also worked with the community interpreting for the hispanic forum. I also do volunteer work with the Lackey Free clinic translating and interpreting for the medical doctors and staff and their clients. I also have experience teaching ESL at a community school for adult immigrants.


Business

My degree is in Organizational Management with a minor in Education. However with my degree and work experience I can assist in the majority of the courses anyone needs help in. I do have experience in management of resources, which includes money, personnel and equipment to name a few. Many of my courses are in Psychology, Sociology and Communications. I am currently enrolled in a Maters of Science in Health Services Administration with Strayer University.