Morris G.


Morris G.

Tutor

San Francisco, CA 94108

Will travel 15 miles

$75 per hour.

0.0 0 ratings

I teach you how to learn then we explore culture and language!

I am a native bilingual of English and Spanish who speaks fairly fluent Turkish. I have a Master's degree in Linguistics and a Bachelor's in Classics with a minor in Spanish. I have lived in several different countries including Chile (my country), the US (my other country), Per?, Turkey and Spain. I recently moved to the Bay Area from Istanbul where I ran my own language school. Currently I am working on developing language learning curricula and have some neat projects related to language ... [more]


Vocabulary


Spanish

I am a native speaker of Spanish, having been raised in Chile and in a Spanish-speaking home in the US. I have a Master's degree in Spanish linguistics from Indiana University (2013) I have taught Spanish at various institutions in the US and abroad. Importantly, I also have learned a third language which allows me to help my students learn better since I not know speak Spanish natively, but I also know what it is like to learn a foreign language!


ESL/ESOL

I have taught ESL (TEFL) for about 9 years now. I have a Master's in Ling?istics. I also have a TEFL certification. I have helped students learn English while in the US as well in in other countries (Spain, Turkey, Per?). I can help students prepare for test (TOEFL, IELTS, GRE). My focus is on helping students adapt to the English language -become more fluent, understand more, write better, read better. I have several curricula ready for helping students do this. I am currently finishing a book on successful language learning. I, myself speak 3 languages, one of which I learned as an adult.


Classics

I have a Bachelor's degree in Classical Cultures. I have read many of the classics since obtaining my degree. Furthermore, I did a lot of personal research into ancient history while I lived in Istanbul, Turkey.


Linguistics

I have a Master's in Linguistics from Indiana University. I focused on pragmatics, typology, and phonetics/phonology. In addition to my Master's work I have done a lot of additional reading and write/produce linguistics materials frequently.