William D.


William D.

Tutor

Mexico, MO 65265

Will travel 40 miles

$30 per hour.

5.0 8 ratings

Experienced Tutor -- Most Subjects through High School & CC

I started teaching in 1982. My career has taken me to China and Thailand, as well as Maryland, Tennessee, and Missouri. I have taught students from Kindergarten to Grad School in subjects from science and technology to philosophy and foreign language. I have accumulated a total of 16 years' experience in K-12 science (biology, chemistry, physics, and general science), with additional experience in computers and technology, physical education, and upper elementary (grades 5-7). I have also t... [more]


Algebra 1


American History


Biology

I got my undergraduate degree in Biology, with an emphasis on vertebrate zoology, in 1981. I have taught or tutored biology for over 10 years. I'm certified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education.


Chemistry

Chemistry was one of my two minors as an undergraduate. I have taught introductory chemistry at the high school and college level for more than 10 years. I am certified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education.


Vocabulary


Grammar


Microsoft Excel


Microsoft Word


Microsoft PowerPoint


Prealgebra


Reading

I work with students in a number of subjects, including reading (up through college). I have more than 20 years teaching experience with a broad range of ages. I'd like to help you too.


Writing


Geography


English


ESL/ESOL

I am certified by the Missouri state Department of Elementary and Secondary Education to teach English to speakers of other languages. I have lived in China and Thailand, with shorter term stays in the Philippines, Mexico, Sweden, and Finland


Anatomy


Physiology


SAT Math


Literature


World History


Proofreading


GED


SAT Reading


SAT Writing


Physical Science

I have taught physical science, including chemistry and physics, for more than 10 years. I am certified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education in both chemistry and physics.


Nursing


ASVAB


Ecology


PSAT


ACT Science


Study Skills

I am a certified teacher in Maryland and Missouri. My certifications include Biology, Chemistry, General Science, Physics, Chinese, and ESOL. I have a total of over 30 years of teaching experience, including teaching study skills to 9th grade students. I have also tutored a number of students successfully one on one. I taught a one year course based on Sean Covey's "7 Habits of Highly Effective Teens." I am currently working with two students on organization and effective studying strategies.


Chinese

I have lived in China and studied Chinese for a total of three years. In addition, I have a Master of Arts degree in Asian studies with an emphasis in classical Chinese literature. I hold state certification in Missouri for teaching Chinese in grades K-12 and I have taught Chinese as a summer school enrichment course.


Sociology

For the past three years, I have successfully tutored over 20 university students in a variety of courses in rural sociology and sociology. I currently hold state certification in biology, chemistry, physics, general science, ESOL, and Foreign Language (Chinese) teaching.


TEAS

The TEAS or Test of Essential Academic Skills is divided into four (4) subject based subtests -- English, Reading, Math, and Science. I have taught science for over 20 years; I have also tutored students in English, Reading, and Math for more than 5 years. My academic background includes a Bachelor of Science degree in biology, with a minor in chemistry (Science and Math); my Master of Arts degrees are in linguistics and Asian Studies (English and Reading). I have tutored students in each of the major subject areas, as well as ACT Prep. My fundamental methods for test prep are to practice, check, correct, and review.


Fitness

After playing 3 sports in high school, I have been a competitive powerlifter since 1986. In addition to competing, I have trained older adults and children in strength and conditioning for over 5 years.