Deborah F.


Deborah F.

Tutor

Mcallen, TX 78504

Will travel 25 miles

$35 per hour.

5.0 1 ratings

Knowledgeable in Texas Staar Test Prep

I am a recently retired Special Education teacher with 17 years classroom experience. I have a Master's degree in Learning Disabilities and considered Highly Qualified. I moved to Texas from Michigan last July so I not only have experience with Michigan's standardized test but have worked this year on preparing my students to take the STAAR. I have worked with all different age groups but most of my experience has been with grades K-8. I am a skilled teacher and am qualified to tutor all ... [more]


American History

I have a minor in history from college plus I have a Masters degree in learning disabilities.


Vocabulary


Grammar


Prealgebra


Reading


Writing

I have a Master's degree in Learning Disabilities and have been actively teaching for the past 16 years.


Geography


World History


Elementary Math


Elementary (K-6th)

My teaching certificate states that I am able to teach any subject grades K-8 and special education grades K-12. Most of my teaching experience has dealt with grades K-6 so I can feel qualified to tutor any subject in grades K-6.


Phonics

When in college I have several taken several classes on Phonemic awareness and phonics. During this past school year I worked extensively with the Direct Instruction program which is also a form of phonics instruction.


Study Skills

Being a special education teacher I have worked with students of all different levels. Some on a one to one basis, small group or in a classroom setting. During this past school year I tutored students after school as well as on Saturdays.


Special Needs

I have a Master's Degree in Learning Disabilities and have been teaching for the past 16 years. My students have always made progress especially in reading and math. I am always looking for different ways to teach and motivate students.


Dyslexia

As a special education teacher I have had much experience working with students with dyslexia and have many resources that would assist in helping a student with dyslexia.


Social Studies

I have always enjoyed Social Studies, in fact because I enjoyed it so much in college, I came close to getting a minor in Social Studies. Also during my teacher training I took a course in Methods of Teaching Social Studies. Which I feel makes me qualified to tutor someone in need.


Common Core

Common Core was established during my teaching career and I have had experience with all aspects of Common Core reading and math and feel quite comfortable teaching or tutoring a common core subject.