Marian F.


Marian F.

Tutor

Cumberland, RI 02864

Will travel 20 miles

$50 per hour.

4.75 4 ratings

Patient and caring English tutor specializing in English and test prep

Dear Potential Students, I am a certified teacher who has experience at the elementary, high school, and college level. I have earned two masters degrees in counseling and teaching and my undergraduate degree is in English/Secondary Education. Currently, I teach at a local college and also work as an academic advisor. Please know that not only am I an educator, but a parent. I look at my students in two ways, i.e., as an educator as well as a mother. I treat my students the way that I w... [more]


Vocabulary


Grammar

Certified teacher with a bachelor's degree in English/Education as well as a master's degree in teaching (literacy specialty).


Reading

I have a degree in English and currently teach developmental reading and writing at the Community College of Rhode Island. In addition, I have taught reading on the elementary and high school level as well as at Johnson & Wales University and Roger Williams University.


Writing

I have earned three degrees, viz., English/Secondary Education, Counseling and Teaching. I have experience teaching international students at Johnson & Wales University as well as at Roger Williams University. The courses that I have taught to international, as well as American students, include reading, writing, grammar, and literature.


English

I hold a Bachelor's degree in English/Secondary Education and Master's degrees (2) in counseling and teaching.


Literature


Proofreading


SAT Reading

Prepare students for all aspects of the college journey, including SAT preparation, college essay writing, selection of major, etc.


SAT Writing


Spelling


Elementary Math


Elementary (K-6th)

I am a certified elementary school teacher.


Phonics

I am a certified elementary school teacher with extensive experience in teaching reading at the elementary through developmental level.


Study Skills

Currently, I teach study skills at the Community College of Rhode Island through the advising and English departments.


College Counseling

Currently, I am employed as a academic advisor/counselor at the Community College of Rhode Island. My duties include all phases of academic counseling (choice of major, transfer of credits, etc.) as well as personal counseling (test anxiety, stress management, organizational skills).


Ballet

I have been studying ballet for the past 38 years and have performed with the State Ballet of Rhode Island. I continue to study ballet at the State Ballet of Rhode Island where I take classes in pointe and technique (Russian style).


TEAS

I have taught a TEAS review course at the Community College of Rhode Island. I also teach developmental reading and writing at CCRI.