Thomas R.


Thomas R.

Tutor

Pittsford, NY 14534

Will travel 15 miles

$40 per hour.

0.0 0 ratings

Tom/Interesting/Down to Earth/Flexible

As a father of five children, ranging in ages from 9 years through 24, with a background in law enforcement and education, I offer a wide range of intellectual, professional, and personal experiences highly relevant to the educational needs of today's students. Since 2006 I have been tutoring students from all socioeconomic backgrounds in conjunction with my work as a New York State Parole Officer, and since my retirement from parole in February of 2013, I am now interested in tutoring/teachi... [more]


American History


Vocabulary


Grammar


Reading


Writing


Geography


English


ESL/ESOL


Literature


World History


Study Skills

I have a Masters in Education and I have been working as a tutor and substitute teacher here in the Rochester area since 2006. In addition, I have just retired from 27 years as a field parole officer which entails not only law enforcement work but case management/report writing/investigative expertise. I have raised 5 children ages ranging from 25 years down to 10 and my two sons who are in 4th and 7th grade frequently elicit my help with their studies. I am permanently certified to teach social studies grades 7-12.


Criminal Justice

I have just retired from the Department of Corrections and Community Supervision (formerly the New York State Division of Parole) where I worked as a field officer in both New York City and Rochester. Among my assignments with the division I was attached with the Intelligence Unit of Rochester Police Department from 1999 to 2006 as part of a violent crime task force. As a field parole officer for the past 25 years I supervised convicted felons released from state prison early, managing their reintegration into the community, investigating them and when necessary, executing arrest warrants and reincarcerating them. As a trained peace officer, fully armed, and having worked in several special units with other law enforcement agencies, I have experience in all phases of law enforcement. Of course I can offer references to corroborate my credentials. And I began my career as a probation officer in Chautauqua County for three years.


Social Studies

I have a bachelor of arts degree with a major in sociology and over 35 years of work experience in the field of Human Services, Education, and Criminal Justice. I also have a graduate degree in Education from the University of Buffalo. I have been a social studies teacher both full and part time and I hold a permanent New York State Teacher Certification in Social Studies 7-12 since 1987.