Nancy B.


Nancy B.

Tutor

Independence, MO 64052

Will travel 15 miles

$50 per hour.

3.0 1 ratings

Experienced English, Reading, Writing, and Grammar Tutor

I am a retired postal worker who decided to pursue a college degree after retirement and received my AA in Liberal Arts with honors and a 3.7 GPA. Having worked for the government for my entire life since high school, the opportunity had never previously presented itself. I have tutored my niece and nephew, my stepdaughter, and children of friends all my life, as I have been blessed with the ability to help others learn. I am the daughter of a teacher, and learned to read at the age of two an... [more]


Vocabulary


Grammar


Microsoft Word


Microsoft PowerPoint


Reading


Writing


English


Literature


Proofreading


GED


SAT Reading


SAT Writing


Spelling


ACT Reading


ACT English


Elementary Math


Elementary Science


Elementary (K-6th)

I am currently acting as a teaching assistant at a magnet school. I am proficient in elementary levels of math, science, history, English, writing, grammar, vocabulary, spelling, and physical education. I have an Associates Degree in Liberal Arts. I am certified as an elementary substitute teacher in the state of Missouri. I love working with elementary age students as they have such a love of learning. I am patient and fun-loving, and understanding, but still expect my rules regarding lesson completion and learning to be followed.


General Music

I took piano lessons from age 6 to age 15. I played the bassoon from age 13 to age 18, with a stint in the Kansas City Youth Symphony from age 16-18, and private bassoon lessons from the KC Conservatory of Music from age 15-18. I still play piano from time to time, though I do not, at present own a piano, my mother has a piano available whenever I feel the need to play. I come from a highly musical family who sang for church services as a quartet or octet, can sight read, and am familiar with music scoring. I am more comfortable teaching younger students from 7-15.


Piano

I started taking piano lessons when I was six years old. I played piano and took lessons throughout high school. I also read music and have taught family members and friends to play, though never formally. My mom plays beautifully and used to give lessons in our home, and I helped her with the beginning students with simple tunes, scales, and flash cards. I played Bassoon in high school and in the Kansas City Youth Symphony for four years and prepared all my own solos for music contests with my mom's help as my accompanist. I am qualified to teach beginner through early intermediate piano students.


Study Skills

I have been both a tutor and a peer leader. I am proficient in test taking myself and am willing to pass that knowledge to others who need help. I have worked through test anxiety and have developed several practices that work well in a testing situation. I was the go-to person in my peer group when someone felt unprepared to take a test and helped my friends study on a daily basis. I am also proficient in homework skills and methods of time management so students can make a schedule most efficient for them and utilizing their strong subjects to leave them with a positive and effective homework experience.


College Counseling

I was a peer leader at MCC-BR for two semesters, helping new students transition to a college setting and helping College 100 Instructors in a classroom setting to train new students in time management, test taking, resume writing, and other facets of becoming an effective college student. I was a member of student activities council and also assisted in the advisor office during enrollment each semester.