Justin K.


Justin K.

Tutor

Knoxville, TN 37918

Will travel 20 miles

$50 per hour.

4.73 15 ratings

UTenn PhD Candidate Tutoring in a Variety of Subjects

I am a 5th-year PhD student at the University of Tennessee-Knoxville in Political Science (specializing in International Relation, Terrorism and the Middle East). I'm also an instructor for one undergraduate course per semester. The topic varies, but usually it's International Relations, US Foreign Policy, or Terrorism Studies. I'm a graduate of Duke University with a B.S. in Psychology and George Washington University with an M.S. in Forensic Science. Outside academia, I've spent time worki... [more]


Algebra 1


Algebra 2


American History


Biology


Calculus

I took two semesters of calculus in high school (earning a 5 on the AP exam). I continued in college with multivariable calculus. I have also tutored AP Calculus for multiple students previously.


Chemistry

In high school, I took multiple semesters of chemistry, including at the AP level, earning a 5 on that exam. In college, I took one more semester of general chemistry before continuing into organic chemistry. I also currently tutor in chemistry for multiple students.


Grammar

In high school, I scored a 5 on the AP English Language exam. I took several English courses in college, including a couple specifically on writing. I also like to write in my spare time and am working on my first novel.


Geometry


Physics

I took 2 semesters of Physics while earning my B.S. at Duke University. In high school Physics, I scored a 5 on the AP Physics B exam. I also took a couple college engineering courses where physics was a large part of the curriculum.


Prealgebra


Precalculus


Psychology

Understanding the human mind is of great fascination to me. I hold a Bachelor of Science in Psychology from Duke University. I also studied Forensic Psychology as part of a degree from George Washington University.


SAT Math

While in high school, I took math courses up through AP Calculus BC. I studied for and took the SAT a few times. I scored an 800 on the SAT Math portion.


Literature


World History


GRE


Proofreading

I currently work with a critique group specifically designed around proofreading the writing of others.


SAT Reading


SAT Writing


Physical Science


PSAT


Criminal Justice

I have a Masters degree in Forensic Science, which required multiple courses in Criminal Justice. This included courses on Law and Procedure, as well as CSI techniques and concepts. I also currently teach forensics and some criminal law at a local museum for visiting school and tour groups.


AFOQT

I have taken the AFOQT within the past year as part of an application for AF Intelligence Officer. My scores were, across the board, very high in all sections of the test. This includes Pilot/Navigator sections, even though those are not counted towards Intel Officer candidacy.