Annie D.


Annie D.

Tutor

Saint Petersburg, FL 33707

Will travel 20 miles

$50 per hour.

4.83 6 ratings

Creative, Patient, and Positive Academic Tutor and Life Coach

Hello everyone! I am a Marine Biologist here in St. Petersburg, FL. I work for the Fish and Wildlife Research Institute downtown. I have been a tutor/teacher since 2003, and I really enjoy meeting new students and sharing my passion for learning with them by validating their challenges and teaching them techniques, material, and confidence to conquer their struggles and achieve their goals! I have most recently taught various science classes to a wide range of ages (K-college). If you're loo... [more]


Algebra 1

I am great with Algebra and have a science Master's degree (in Biology), so, in addition to algebra, I have taken and tutored in a variety of math classes up through advanced statistics and calculus III. I love working with students of all ages and abilities. I have recently had great success working with several students of middle school age with learning disabilities, and I am very comfortable adapting to each students individual learning style.


Biology

I have taken cellular bio myself and have tutored this subject for college students before.


Vocabulary


Grammar


Prealgebra


Reading


Study Skills

The last student I worked with had advance learning disabilities and her mom hired me to work with her for her college courses for four years. She also hired me for my academic life coaching services and to teach and keep her organized and studying. This included thing like: *Discussing obstacles and challenges and how to overcome them or grow *Learning to communicate with and be more outgoing towards teachers *Creating calendars for scheduling assignment deadlines, homework, tests/quizzes, plus how to work around non-academic life activities, etc. *Developing long and short-term study plans *Being available short notice and at odd hours to help with particularly difficult assignments or at those times during the year when there are many demands across multiple classes *Helping counsel, guide, and prepare the student for class registration and for internship and job prospects and applications *Working with the student to explore intimidating learning opportunities like study abroad


Writing

I have tutored in many writing intensive courses in many different subjects at the college level. I also have professional grant writing experience and am ready to put the time in to help you with any writing assignment!


English


Anatomy


Literature


Proofreading


Physical Science

I have worked with Middle School students previously who had various learning challenges and styles. I specialize in sciences, but I also have lots of experience helping all different ages and types of students to get and stay organized. I also have experience offering guidance on strategies for studying skills, assignment completion, and test-taking.


Ecology

I have a lot of experience with the subjects in which you are requesting tutoring for your daughter. I have taken numerous ecology and environmental biology courses myself, and I took the AP tests in many subjects in high school (including biology). I also taught environmental biology to non-science major college students for two years.


Microbiology


Spelling


Elementary Math


Elementary Science


Elementary (K-6th)

I have and bachelors and masters degree in biology, and I have been tutoring other students since I was in High School in subjects such as math, theology, biology, chemistry, English (grammar and writing), and Spanish. I have guest/substitute taught at elementary schools on subjects ranging from science and English to art and history. I used to work at a K-6 aftercare program and would help all the students with their homework (ranging from math and science to English/reading and Spanish). I also worked five summers with an Oceanography Camp for Girls through the University of South Florida and taught science, math, and leadership skills to 13 year old girls.