Annie J.


Annie J.

Tutor

Jackson, MS 39211

Will travel 40 miles

$25 per hour.

4.67 3 ratings

Dedicated Year Round Tutor

My goal in tutoring each student is to help them reach their potential and see grades and test scores improve. I have a BS degree in Psychology and an advanced degree in Counseling. I tutored for 2 years in the areas of K-6 and literacy, working with students on phonics, letter recognition, sight words, vocabulary, reading comprehension, study skills, etc. My experience tutoring K-6 was with students within the Memphis City School System, all subjects and Literacy Mid-South tutoring students ... [more]


Reading


Psychology


Spelling


Elementary Math


Study Skills

I have taught college level and K-12 study skills. I teach students how to figure out their learning style. This will help with organizing notes, study materials, and other learning aids. I help students develop organization and an approach on what areas need the most work and we prioritize that list. I help students learn about concentration and memory and how that helps them with their study routine and test taking. I help students with time management and teach basis strategies on test taking, study time limits, etc. We work together to develop a plan that will work for them which we review in the beginning session and update as they grow and develop.


Career Development

I have 7 years working within Higher Ed with students as a Counselor. I assisted students with taking Interest and Personality Inventories to help them narrow down a more suitable career path. I worked with them on choosing majors, finding out areas of strengths in regards to academic subjects needed for all majors. I paired them with Mentors in areas of interest to get a behind the scene look at chosen careers. I also prepared them with mock interviews, resume assistance, internship / volunteer opportunities and appropriate work attire workshops, etc.


College Counseling

I have 7 years experience working as a college Counselor at a Community college, University and a community agency program working with at risk students. My experience includes all areas of need for each student. Those areas may be personal counseling, including mental health issues and family issues, tutoring, registering for classes, choosing majors, applying for financial aid, transitioning from high school to college life, studying routines, adjusting to college life, etc. I have a M.S. in Counseling.