Alex B.


Alex B.

Tutor

Eugene, OR 97405

Will travel 15 miles

$50 per hour.

5.0 15 ratings

Engineer; experience tutoring math and sciences

I have been tutoring for over 10 years. Beginning in high school, I volunteered as a tutor for local at-risk elementary and high school students in my hometown of Morristown, NJ. I continued tutoring on a volunteer basis through college and started using my talents to earn a little extra money, while earning my engineering degree at Lehigh University. After college, I practiced engineering for a while before becoming bored with my career options, so I began my own tutoring business in the Ann... [more]


Algebra 1

Algebra is my bread and butter when it comes to math. This subject always came most easily to me in school and I was consistently at the top of my class in this subject. Furthermore, my prowess in this area can be seen in my high SAT math section and subject test scores of 780 and 760, respectively.


Algebra 2

As a math tutor since graduating college, I have frequently run into students needing help in Algebra.


American History


Biology


Vocabulary


Grammar


Geometry

I excelled at geometry in high school where I received top marks. Additionally, my geometry knowledge can be shown through my high score on the SAT math section (780).


Prealgebra

Prealgebra is one of my strongest subjects. I scored well on my SATs in this area and as a school subject. I feel most comfortable working with students in this age range as well.


Precalculus

I frequently tutor precalculus. Additionally, I excelled in precalculus during high school and throughout college while studying for my Engineering degree from Lehigh University.


Reading


Trigonometry


Statistics

I took AP statistics in high school then continued in college by taking a statistics course in the math department (not business or engineering) where we weren't allowed to use any computer aid. Now I help tutor a few students in high school statistics.


Geography


SAT Math

I have been tutoring SAT math most predominantly over the past couple of months. When I took the test as a high schooler, I scored a 780. I am very comfortable teaching this subject.


GRE

I took the GRE in Dec 2016. I scored a 170 on math, a 160 on reading, and a 5 on writing.


Physical Science

As an environmental engineer I studied many of the physical sciences including, geology, oceanography, meteorology, and more. Additionally, I have tutored physical sciences fairly regularly over the past year.


Geology

I took Geology in college at the 100 level as part of my studies in Environmental Engineering.


Ecology

I took Ecology at the 100 level as a part of my studies in Environmental Engineering.


ACT Math

I am very familiar with the ACT test, as I prepared to take it in high school, however, I scored well enough on my SATs that I never officially took the test. I have been tutoring standardized math tests recently, so am very comfortable instructing for these types of exams.


ACT Science


Elementary Math


Elementary Science