Christal D.


Christal D.

Tutor

Columbia, MO 65202

Will travel 20 miles

$40 per hour.

4.94 35 ratings

Versatile Tutor with Experience

I am a current second year PhD student in the Clinical Psychology program at the University of Missouri. I obtained my Master of Arts degree in November 2017 in Clinical Psychology. I graduated from the University of Mississippi with my Bachelor of Arts degree in psychology and a minor in sociology. I maintained a 3.98 GPA throughout my undergraduate career while working 30+ hours a week, and I would love to help you out with getting closer to your own academic goals. Beginning my freshman ye... [more]


Vocabulary


Grammar


Reading


Writing

I was hired to work at the Writing Center on campus. I also have tutored athletes in Writing 100, 101, 102, and 250.


Statistics

I have worked as a statistics tutor since my freshman year on campus. I have tutored athletes and regular students alike. I am currently completing graduate level coursework in statistics at the University of Missouri, where I plan on receiving a graduate minor in statistics.


English


Psychology

I am currently a doctoral candidate in Clinical Psychology at the University of Missouri. I graduated from the University of Mississippi with a 4.00 GPA in my major (psychology). I have tutored students in psychology since my freshman year of undergraduate. I can tutor any psychology subject, as I have both broad and more specific knowledge in the area.


Literature


Proofreading


ADHD

As a tutor for the athletic department at my university for the past four years, I have worked with numerous students diagnosed with ADD/ADHD and other learning disabilities. I have developed various strategies to help maintain the attention of these students and help them succeed in their courses. As a private tutor, I have also worked with multiple students diagnosed with ADD/ADHD and have had great success at helping them improve their scores in their courses.


Dyslexia

Working as a private tutor, I have gained experience with several students diagnosed with dyslexia. Because of the unique frustrations that come with this diagnosis, I have become adept at reducing students' worries and helping them become more confident and independent in their learning abilities. I have also done well with encouraging students to take advantage of accommodations to help ease the issues involved in having dyslexia.


Sociology

I graduated with a sociology minor at the University of Mississippi. I completed 18 hours in sociology courses and tutored courses outside of my previously completed courses as well. I have also served as a student athlete tutor in the subject of sociology for four years.