Everett B.


Everett B.

Tutor

Norfolk, VA 23505

Will travel 15 miles

$50 per hour.

5.0 3 ratings

Personal, Friendly, Convenient Tutoring by Everett

I am a tutor living in the Norfolk, Virginia, area. I am available for private instruction in many different subjects, and I hope to provide services that are personal, affordable, and convenient. Since I've started tutoring, I've enjoyed getting to know my students, embraced the challenge of finding the best way to help each one, and celebrated every improvement. Outside of academics, I am a professional classical musician and am a French horn player in the Virginia Symphony. I've worked a... [more]


Algebra 1

I have worked at a math tutoring center for 2 years. I have had specialized training in many math subjects. I have a lot of experience working with Algebra I students.


Algebra 2

I have worked at a math tutoring center for two years, so I've been specially trained to tutor most math subjects, including Algebra II. I work with a lot of students on this subject, and I've developed many helpful tips and tricks along the way.


Grammar


General Computer


Geometry

I have worked at a math tutoring center for two years. I have received specialized training in many different math subjects, including geometry. I have a lot of experience working with high school students.


Microsoft Word


Prealgebra

I have extensive math tutoring experience at all levels, including Pre-Algebra. I work at a math tutoring center, where I am regularly working with middle-schoolers.


Precalculus

I have worked for two years at a math tutoring center. I have had specialized training in tutoring math subjects, including Precalculus. I have spent a lot of time working with high school students in a variety of areas. I also got a 5 on my AP Calculus test and a 740 on my Math SAT.


Reading


Music Theory


Trigonometry


Writing

I've done a lot of reading and writing in my life. In college and graduate school, I wrote numerous papers and essays. I scored a 750 on the SAT Writing test and a 700 on the SAT Critical Reading test. I am an avid reader, and I'm currently trying to read a book per week this year.


SAT Math


Proofreading


SAT Reading


SAT Writing


SSAT


Spelling


ACT Reading


ACT English


ACT Math


ACT Science


Elementary Math


Elementary Science


Ear Training

I have two degrees in music, and I have been active as a professional French horn player and teacher for five years. I took piano lessons in elementary school and passed my piano proficiency test in college. I sang in a choir at my church through high school. I have taken many courses in music theory, music history, and ear training.


Study Skills

I have tutored students in study skills and organization before. I helped them with organization, scheduling, prioritizing, note-taking, test preparation, memorization, and other study skills. I also have years of personal experience organizing and studying for my own tests.


French Horn

I have been playing French horn for 16 years. I have a Bachelor's and Master's in French horn performance. I have 5 years of experience teaching French horn private lessons and group classes. I have performed with the Houston Symphony, Toledo Symphony, Hawaii Symphony, Sarasota Orchestra, and others.