Kristy L.


Kristy L.

Tutor

Indian Trail, NC 28079

Will travel 30 miles

$50 per hour.

5.0 1 ratings

Holistic approach to tutoring

I currently work in Higher education at CPCC and have professionally mentored students at UNCC, for which I am certified. My previous employment also includes working for the Greater Enrichment after school Program in Charlotte where I aided students with their homework and assisted and lead physical education activities, arts and crafts and creative play for math, English, and science subjects. I was also employed as tutor for GEP assisting K-2 students in Language Arts. I am currently maint... [more]


Vocabulary


Reading

I am currently pursuing an 18 credit concentration in English as part of my master's degree and am an avid reader myself.


Writing

I have extensive experience in writing papers as part of my undergrad and graduate studies. I have tutored students in the past with writing assignments and final papers and presentations.


Literature

I have been an avid reader all my life and have completed numerous literature courses as part of my Master's degree, part of which I am completing as a concentration in English. I have studied Pre-Civil War era American literature, British Literature, Ancient world literature, novels written by female authors and life writing.


Proofreading


Elementary (K-6th)

I tutored elementary school students across all subjects for over two years as an employee for the Greater Enrichment Program in Charlotte. I served as a tutor for K-3, a classroom assistant for 4th graders and a lead teacher of 2nd graders.


Study Skills

I have achieved Level II International Mentor Training Certification from the College Reading and Learning Association through my employment as a peer mentor at UNCC. Part of this training consisted of administering learning style assessments, interpreting the assessment and providing study skills based on the individual's learning style and need.


College Counseling

I am currently employed full time at CPCC as an academic advisor. I work in First Year Advising so I am well versed in acclimating students to college, helping them with the high school to college transition and I am knowledgeable about the transfer process to universities in North Carolina.


Anthropology

My undergraduate major was in Anthropology, with a concentration in Applied Anthropology. I excelled in my studies, being inducted in the Anthropology honor society and graduating with a 4.0/4.0 GPA.


Archaeology

Archaeology was my sub-field specialization within my Anthropology major. I have also taken additional Archaeology classes at the graduate level as well as attended an archaeological field during my undergrad studies.


Film

I majored in TV/Film studies as part of my Associate of Arts degree in Communications at Rockland County Community College. I am well versed in film theory and served as technical director for a local cable show produced at the community college.


Classics

I minored in Classical Studies as part of my undergraduate degree, graduating with a 4.0 in all my courses.