Matthew G.


Matthew G.

Tutor

Pensacola, FL 32503

Will travel 40 miles

$30 per hour.

4.96 287 ratings

Experienced and Patient Teacher/Tutor

Hello! My name is Matthew, I've been tutoring students since my time in college, starting in 2003. After college I lived in China(4 years) and Thailand(2 years) where I taught students English and learned their languages and cultures. I love to help students through tutoring because it allows me the ability to see students advance in their skills and confidence. In the past 3 years I have expanded my tutoring to include subjects from Elementary to the GRE as I began doing this full time... [more]


Algebra 1


American History


Vocabulary


Microsoft Excel


General Computer


Geometry

I have worked with Geometry in my own life since High School and have spent a lot of time working with Geometry students both in person and online. I enjoy helping students who are struggling find the meaning behind Geometry and the secret to using it and understanding it.


Microsoft Word


Physics


Microsoft PowerPoint


Prealgebra


Precalculus


Reading


Trigonometry


Writing


English


ESL/ESOL

I am currently pursuing a Master's Degree in ESOL. I have completed a 120-hour TESOL Certification from the International TEFL and TESOL Training Center. I have 5 years of ESL teaching in China and Thailand. From 2003 to Present, I have tutored ESL in both America and Asia.


SAT Math


World History


GRE


Proofreading


GED

I have graduated from high school and college so I have a good knowledge of the topics on the GED. I have achieved a 31 on the ACT. I have also helped many students on the ASVAB and GED.


SAT Reading

I have been teaching Reading Comprehension from 2nd Grade to Adult. I have helped regular American students who are just a little behind, people prepping for the SAT/ACT, as well as adult ESL learners.


Physical Science


TOEFL

I have taught ESL for 5 years and have been tutoring in ESL for 11 years. I have helped many international students prepare for going to college in other countries. That includes preparing for the TOEFL/IELTS and the GRE.


ASVAB

I studied through all the topics on the ASVAB during my schooling and have been tutoring students in the ASVAB since 2016. I have spent the most time helping students with English and Math so the reasoning/mathematics/vocabulary/reading sections are my focus but I can tutor all of the parts of it. I also have a number of practice tests I use to evaluate and focus the student's studying.


ACT Reading


ACT English

I scored a 31 on my ACT and a 90th percentile on my GRE English section. I've been teaching English for 11 years now.


Elementary Math

I have passed the Florida General Knowledge exam for teaching elementary school. I have also been tutoring students from Elementary to High school level in Math in Pensacola.


Elementary Science


Managerial Accounting


Financial Accounting


Macroeconomics


Microeconomics

I graduated from Auburn University with a Bachelors in Economics and I have been able to watch that in use in real life ever since. I have also been tutoring people, specifically in Micro and Macro Economics since then.


Elementary (K-6th)

I have tutored many elementary students around my area in reading and math. I have passed the FTCE exam for the Florida Department of Education. I have also shadowed a 1st grade teacher for six months and am currently getting my Master's in Teaching from MidAmerican Nazarene University.


Chinese

I lived in China for four years, where I met my wife (who is Chinese). We now live in America and communicate to each other only in Mandarin Chinese M, W, F and English T, Th, Sat to make sure we can both keep up with our language! I passed the HSK4 Level Chinese Proficiency Exam in 2015 and have continued to improve my language since then.


ISEE

I have studied all the subjects on the ISEE exams from the lowest to the highest level. I have tutored students in the past in the ISEE also and helped them pass the test.


AFOQT

I have studied the subjects on the AFOQT and had no problem earning high scores on the same types of questions on the SAT and ACT. I have tutored people taking standardized tests like this one since 2013.


IELTS

I taught IELTS Preparation classes to students in China for 3 years.