Alisha H.


Alisha H.

Tutor

Ferndale, MI 48220

Will travel 15 miles

$30 per hour.

5.0 1 ratings

Experience the Joy of Learning!

Hello All! It's great to meet you! I am a lifelong lover of learning. It has always been a dream of mine to help spread that joy to others. I can recall a previous job- where I worked at a library in the children's section. I can remember a child saying to me, "I hate reading!" By the end of that month, I had completely proved him wrong. :-) By the end of that month, that child was finishing chapter books in several days and coming back to me proudly- a smile on his face. That smile was on... [more]


Vocabulary


Grammar


Microsoft Excel


General Computer

I have used Macintosh, Microsoft, and Linux computers for over 15 years for various purposes. I consider myself an advanced computer user.


Microsoft Word


Microsoft PowerPoint


Reading


Writing

I have written three children's books (working on 2 more) and one unpublished novel. My second novel is in process and should be released in Spring of 2019. In college I received no lower than 3.9 in my literature classes. In most, I received a 4.0.


English

I have a Bachelor's Degree in Education as well as a specialty academic endorsement in Language Arts.


Literature


Proofreading


Spelling


Elementary Math


Phonics

In addition to my undergraduate degree, I have 5 years of experience tutoring young children in phonics.


Study Skills

I have helped several students- both children and adults- learn and develop their study skills. Each method is unique to the student: based on their interests, motivations, and learning styles. This is where my studies of child development and learning is so useful.


Linux

I have had a desktop computer with Linux OS for the last 2 years.


Macintosh

I have 2 years of experience with Macintosh computers from a previous employment position.


Microsoft Windows

I have used computers with Microsoft Windows OS- both professionally and personally- for more than 15 years.


Needlework

I have been doing embroidery, hand-sewing, and cross stitch as hobbies for the past 10 years. I am also able to perform small repairs to clothing and furniture, such as rips.


Handwriting

I was one of the last generations of people that learned "cursive" script writing (in addition to regular printing) in school. I also learned basic calligraphy as a hobby. I have tutored several different children in printing and one in cursive handwriting.


Common Core

During my education at University of Michigan, I was instructed in lesson planning and goal setting using both GLCES and Common Core.


Homeschool

I was home schooled all through high school. I believe that because of this experience, I am able to help identify both strengths and weaknesses in home schooling systems. Also, because of my undergraduate degree in education, I have the unique position of seeing both variations on the education system. I believe that I would be able to take useful portions from both systems in order to benefit my students and their families.