Ashley D.


Ashley D.

Tutor

Sarasota, FL 34237

Will travel 15 miles

$35 per hour.

5.0 1 ratings

Versatile Tutor Specializing in ESL for Adult Learners

Hello and thank you for viewing my profile! I recently moved to Bradenton to start the next chapter in my life. I am 23 years young and have a Bachelor of Science in Journalism with a minor in history and a Bachelor of Arts in Sociology and Anthropology degree with a concentration in Anthropology from West Virginia University. I've also taken Italian language, forensic science, ethics and geology courses. I have a background in English, anthropology, archaeology, sociology and psychology.... [more]


American History


Vocabulary


Grammar


Microsoft Excel


Microsoft Word


Microsoft PowerPoint


Reading


Writing


English


ESL/ESOL

I teach ESL in Bradenton once a week to Haitian and Hispanic adult learners, and would like to do it even more.


HTML


Literature


World History


Adobe Photoshop


Proofreading


Spelling


Elementary Math


Elementary Science


Theater

I've taken performing arts classes. I have been in more than 15 theatrical productions. I also went to theatre camp and did community theatre when I was in high school.


Voice (Music)

I was in choir from 4th grade until 12th grade. I made select choir in 10th grade (it wasn't available to freshmen). I was in an a capella group during college. I sing at open mics and write my own music. I had some professional training when I was younger. Then, in high school, I had one-on-one sessions with our choir instructor. I also sang in many musicals and was asked to sing at community events. Besides reading music and expanding my range, I also learned the correct way to breathe as well as other techniques.


Adobe InDesign

I have a degree in Journalism. We used Adobe InDesign to practice making newspaper pages. I also used this program every day for two years when I worked for WVU's college newspaper, The Daily Athenaeum.


Anthropology

I have a bachelor's degree in Sociology and Anthropology from WVU. I don't have experience yet in teaching it, but I would like to start. I also studied one summer under Dr. Alexis Gray, forensic anthropologist in Southern California, doing hands-on work for the San Bernardino County Police Department.


Archaeology

I have a bachelor's degree in Sociology and Anthropology. During the time I was earning this degree, I learned the history of the discipline as well the proper methods and techniques. I have special knowledge in mesoamerican archaeology. I also spent time studying in California under archaeologist Dr. Craig Goralski, where I did hands-on work exhuming human remains for DNA extraction.