Theodore Ted L.


Theodore Ted L.

Tutor

Flint, MI 48504

Will travel 20 miles

$25 per hour.

5.0 1 ratings

Former Elementary Teacher Who Misses Working One-on-One

Hi, my name is Theodore "Ted". I taught elementary school for five years. During that time frame, I achieved a 4.0 GPA for my Master's in Curriculum and Instruction. Before that, I was a substitute teacher for two and a half years. Before my subbing period, I graduated with a 4.0 GPA for my Bachelor's in Elementary Education. I recently went back to school to study engineering. However, I really miss teaching and helping others learn. At the school where I taught, the classes were ... [more]


Algebra 1


Algebra 2


Vocabulary


Grammar


Prealgebra


Precalculus


Reading


Spanish


Music Theory


Trigonometry


Writing


English


Proofreading


Spelling


Elementary Math


Elementary (K-6th)

I have a Bachelor's in Elementary Education (K-8), which was achieved in 2009 with a 4.0 GPA. I also have a Master's in Curriculum and Instruction, which was achieved in 2015, also with a 4.0 GPA. I taught elementary grades at a small private school for five years, from 2011-2016.


General Music

I have been a student of music since the age of 5, when I first started learning the violin. I continued to take violin lessons until I was 18, during which time I also performed with my high school orchestra. Throughout those thirteen years, I also took 5 years of lessons in piano. Since then, I have taught myself guitar, drums, ukelele, and am in the beginning stages of trumpet and taught guitar and piano to various students.


Piano

Five years of struggling in piano lessons is actually what makes me the perfect piano tutor. I have a patient understanding for other students like me. I also therefore know how to explain to a student what he/she could do better and how to achieve the desired results. I have since taught piano to many of the students at the school where I used to work and had a total of three students whom I taught privately.


Violin

I'm Asian, what more do you need to know? No, I'm totally kidding, but it did play a factor. I have been playing violin since I was 5 years old, and I took lessons for 13 years. I'll admit that growing up, I *hated* the violin, because I felt as though it was forced upon me by my parents. However, as I reached my senior year in high school, I found a true love and appreciation for the violin and music in general.


Handwriting

Handwriting skills was a subject I taught as an elementary school teacher. Some of my students had dyslexia, which made the task even more challenging. As for my own personal experience, I have developed a somewhat unique style of handwriting that is neat and legible, and often receives the compliment of "impeccable". In my spare time, I also dabble in calligraphy.