Emily M.


Emily M.

Tutor

Chevy Chase, MD 20815

Will travel 10 miles

$45 per hour.

5.0 7 ratings

Summer Readiness, STEM, Test Prep, Independent Learning Specialist

I'm a tutor and teacher with three years of teaching experience. After earning my BS in Biology with a minor in Drama from the University of Dallas, I spent one year teaching high school Chemistry and middle school science with a homeschool co-op in Irving, Texas. When I moved to DC two years ago, I switched to tutoring so as to take advantage of a more flexible schedule, so as to have more time for my children. I'm a bit of a jack-of-all-trades in regards to tutoring. Thanks to the great... [more]


Biology


Reading


English


Literature


SAT Reading


PSAT


SSAT


ACT Reading


ACT English


ACT Science


Elementary Science


Study Skills

In my experience both as a homeschool teacher and as a tutor, part of my lesson plan revolved around teaching the students to proactively seek out answers to their questions for themselves. I specialize in helping students utilize their existing resources, such as smart phones and computers, to assist them in their studies, rather than distract. I also have experience in helping students learn how to budget their time, organize their class materials, and keep effective records. Finally, I've worked with students with a wide range of learning styles and am creative in my approach to helping students stay focused.


Theater

I hold a minor in Drama from the University of Dallas. As part of earning my minor, I studied theater history and theory. I also participated in department sponsored shows as an actor, member of the crew, and as a set designer.


COOP/HSPT

I have helped several students with preparation for the COOP and HSPT in the past few years. I have stayed up to date with changes in the test, and I am comfortable keeping students on track. I have also had a great deal of experience assessing a students weaknesses on the practice tests and tailoring the tutoring to those areas.


Homeschool

I am a former homeschool teacher. In addition to teaching Middle School Science and High School Chemistry to homeschool classes, I also provided college guidance to my students. I am currently homeschooling my two year old daughter, and have been part of the homeschool community in Maryland for years. Finally, I was homeschooled for middle school and high school.